Mission Statement:  Tri-County Head Start’s mission is to develop and provide quality, integrated, comprehensive early childhood development programs which offer a broad range of services and respond to the needs of eligible young children and their families for the purpose of preparing them for success in school and life.
© Tri-County Headstart
Physical Address: 1315 Main Avenue, Suite 124 Durango, CO 81301
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 259 Durango, CO 81302
Phone: (970)-247-5960 Fax:  (970)-247-5979 Email:  info@tchs4c.org
Central Office Durango, Colorado
Central Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Just Playing (original author unknown) When I’m building in the block room, Please don’t say I’m “just playing.” For, you see, I’m learning as I play About balance, I may be an architect someday. When I’m getting all dressed up, Setting the table, caring for the babies, Don’t get the idea I’m “just playing.” I may be a mother or a father someday. When you see me up to my elbows in paint, Or standing at an easel, or molding and shaping clay, Please don’t let me hear you say, “he is just playing.” For, you see, I’m learning as I play. I just might be a teacher someday. When you see me engrossed in a puzzle or some “playing” at my school, Please don’t feel the time is wasted in “play.” For you see, I’m learning as I play. I’m learning to solve problems and concentrate. I may be in a business someday. When you see me cooking or tasting foods, Please don’t think that because I enjoy it, it is “just play.” I’m learning to follow direction and see the differences. I may be a cook someday. When you see me learning to skip, hop, run, and move my body, Please don’t say I’m “just playing.” For, you see, I’m learning at I play. I’m learning how my body works. I may be a doctor, nurse, or athlete someday. When you ask me what I’ve done at school today, And I say “I just played.” Please don’t misunderstand me. For, you see, I’m learning as I play. I’m learning to enjoy and be successful in my work. I’m preparing for tomorrow. Today, I am a child and my work is play
Central Office Staff
Phone:  970-247-5960
Executive Director:  Lisa Muntz executive@tchs4c.org 970-828-5902 Program Director:  Molly Ender program@tchs4c.org 970-828-5909 Human Resource Manager:  Mandy Clark hr@tchs4c.org 970-828-5909 Enrollment Manager:  ERSEA Speicalist enrollment@tchs4c.org 970-828-5916 Program Assistant:  Emma Fernandez pa@tchs4c.org 970-828-5901 Education Specialist:  Nicole Machallister education@tchs4c.org 970-828-5909 Health & Safety Department:  Health & Facilities Manager health@tchs4c.org 970-828-5914 Health & Safety Department:  Health Team Assistant health@tchs4c.org 970-828-5900 Family/Community Involvement Specialist:   Marti Genge family@tchs4c.org 970-828-5908 Mental Health & Disability:  Sky Yudron mentalhealth@tchs4c.org 970-828-5911 Fiscal Department: Finance Manager financial@tchs4c.org 970-828-5903 Fiscal Department:  Fiscal Operation Manager fomanager@tchs4c.org 970-828-5904 IT Department:  Data System Analyst data@tchs4c.org 970-828-5905